Understanding Oklahoma DUI Law

DUI charges are taken quite seriously in the state of Oklahoma. Defendants who are charged with DUIs face potentially life-changing consequences, including steep fines, jail time, and license suspension. That’s why it’s important for anyone facing charges to have an attorney on his or her side and to pursue at least a basic understanding of Oklahoma DUI law.

Petitioning to Keep a License

Oklahoma has strict time-frames for defendants who want to petition to keep their licenses. They must file petitions within 15 days of their arrests, making it integral to get on the ball quickly and hire a lawyer directly after the incident occurs. Although most of the time the court will decide to suspend the defendant’s license until the case can be heard, in certain circumstances drivers are allowed to continue driving with restrictions in order to get to and from work or perform other essential activities.

DUI Penalties

First-time offenders who are convicted of driving under the influence can face up to a year in jail. If there was a child present during the incident, they could face up to four years behind bars. Defendants arrested for a second time face up to five years of incarceration in state prison and steep fines.

License Suspensions

In addition to facing fines of as much as $5,000, DUI defendants also have license suspensions to contend with. First-time offenders can have their licenses suspended for up to thirty days. This suspension period increases to six months for second offenders, and one year for third-time offenders.

Driving Restrictions

In addition to temporarily suspending defendants’ licenses, courts may also impose restrictions on their future driving abilities. An IID, or ignition interlock device, may be required for second and third-time offenders and even some first-time offenders. This device monitors a driver’s alcohol content, only allowing the vehicle to start if the driver has not been drinking.

Implied Consent

Oklahoma laws include an implied consent law. Any driver who refuses to consent to chemical testing will be subjected to automatic fines and license suspensions. This automatic suspension lasts six months for a first offense, one year for a second offense, and three years for a third offense.